Custom_Blog_banner.jpg

SeiferFlatow PLLC Blog

Top 5 Most Dangerous Intersections in Charlotte

Posted by Adam Seifer on Dec 5, 2014 7:23:48 AM

A car crash is a terrible thing. According to the North Carolina Department of Transportation, there were almost 28,000 crashes with 64 fatalities and more than 13,000 injuries in Charlotte last year. Almost 1,000 of those crashes involved alcohol. There are about 800,000 people in Charlotte. If each crash involved just one person, that would mean that more than 3% of the population of the city was involved in a wreck last year.

So, where are the most dangerous places to drive in Charlotte?

Read More

Topics: Personal Injury, Blog, Car Insurance

Why did the police take my license when I was arrested? When can I get it back?

Posted by Adam Seifer on Sep 3, 2014 7:06:09 AM

In 2012, the last year for which data is available, there were 402 drunk-driving fatalities in North Carolina. That’s about a third of the total car crash fatalities. There were about 8,500 alcohol-related car crash injuries. All in all, drunk-driving fatalities cost the taxpayers of North Carolina about $2 billion in 2012. With a price tag that high in terms of life and cash, it makes sense that North Carolina has some of the strictest laws in the country regarding driving while impaired.

A police officer can pull you over either because she has some reason to believe you might be impaired or because you’re passing through a random checkpoint. At a random checkpoint, the officer will generally talk to you to determine if you may be impaired. If she thinks that you or if you were pulled over specifically on suspicion of driving while impaired (DWI), you’ll be asked to take a DWI Breath Tests: Know Your Rights. What happens next depends on state law. So, what happens to your license in North Carolina?

Read More

Topics: Blog, DWI, Car Insurance, North Carolina

I’m licensed in another state. How will a DWI conviction affect my driving privileges in North Carolina and my license in my state?

Posted by Adam Seifer on Jul 24, 2014 11:48:06 AM

North Carolina DWI Laws

In 1983, North Carolina combined all of its alcohol- and drug- related driving laws into a single offense called “Driving While Impaired.” Most DWI stops are alcohol-related. The legal limit for individuals over the age of 21 is a BAC of 0.08%. For commercial vehicle operators, it’s 0.04%. If you already have a DWI on your record, the legal limit is 0.04%. Drivers under the age of 21 must blow a 0.0% - any alcohol concentration is enough for a DWI if you’re under the drinking age.

Read More

Topics: Blog, DWI, Car Insurance, North Carolina

Am I entitled to compensation for car accident injuries?

Posted by Adam Seifer on Jun 19, 2014 7:15:22 AM

You’ve been in a car accident. You’re injured. You have medical bills piling up and no way to pay them. The average cost of medical care stemming from a car accident is about $15,000 – who has that kind of cash on hand? So, are you entitled to payment for those expenses?

Read More

Topics: Settlement, Personal Injury, Insurance Companies, Blog, Car Insurance, Compensation, North Carolina